Saturday 26 July 2014

Diver Matthew Mitcham is the most influential Australian Olympian on Twitter

Diver Matthew Mitcham wins an early Gold ahead of his 11th August heat date, as the most influential Australian Olympian on Twitter with a score of 83.8, ahead of household names including Cadel Evans (76.6) and Stephanie Rice (77.6), according to new research conducted by Edelman Public Relations.

TweetLevel, a unique program designed by Edelman Public Relations which tracks Twitter influence, analysed levels of popularity, engagement and trust of current Australian Olympians to determine who has the most muscle at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The TweetLevel top 10 current Australian Olympians (full list here at the bottom of this post):

Olympian UserURL Influence Popularity Engagement Trust Followers
Matthew Mitcham http://twitter.com/matthew_mitcham

83.8

79.7

76.6

71.2

17,349

Libby Trickett http://twitter.com/libby_trickett

80.8

77.6

73.4

62.2

15,134

Patrick Mills http://twitter.com/Patty_Mills

77.6

77.6

65.6

57.6

43,063

Stephanie Rice http://twitter.com/ItsStephRice

77.6

81.8

67.8

65.6

67,753

Elizabeth Cambage http://twitter.com/ecambage

77.6

72.3

67.8

64.5

8,919

Melanie Schlanger http://twitter.com/Mel_Schlanger

77.6

74.4

70.1

56.4

11,267

Cadel Evans http://twitter.com/CadelOfficial

76.6

87.5

61

46.9

182,196

Eamon Sullivan http://twitter.com/Eamon_Sullivan

75.5

78.7

63.3

58.7

25,194

Joe Ingles http://twitter.com/joeingles7

73.4

76.6

64.5

48.1

42,376

Anna Flanagan http://twitter.com/Anna_Flanagan

72.3

63.3

63.3

43.3

2,730

Data as at Tuesday 8th August 2012

While both Evans (182,196 followers) and Rice (67,753 followers) have significantly more followers than Mitcham (17,349 followers), the research shows that while those Olympians might be popular, this doesn’t necessarily equate to the amount of influence they have on Twitter. It is Mitcham’s continual engagement with regular tweets, retweets and replies that drives his influence.

According to Matthew Gain, Director of Brand and Digital Marketing at Edelman, “Sheer follower numbers alone are not the only indication of an individual’s influence on Twitter, the rate of engagement with your followers and how many RTs you generate all impact your influence.”

Water sports dominated the top 20 spots with swimming and diving making up 45%. The US based presence of many top basketballers and their high US profiles ensured that 30% per cent of the top 10 were made up of basketballers.

While Aussie swimmer Emily Seebohm conceded she was obsessed with Twitter in the lead up to her 100m backstroke final, she comes in at only #21 with an influence score of 62.2, suggesting her rate of engagement to be low.

The research conducted using Edelman’s TweetLevel ranking system scores the Twitter influence of individuals based on a number of factors (including re-tweets, followers, frequency of tweets, references etc measured by an algorithm).

Full Twitter list:

Twitter Handle URL InfluenceScore PopularityScore EngagementScore TrustScore
1 Matthew Mitcham http://twitter.com/matthew_mitcham 83.8 79.7 76.6 71.2
2 Libby Trickett http://twitter.com/libby_trickett 80.8 77.6 73.4 62.2
3 Patrick Mills http://twitter.com/Patty_Mills 77.6 77.6 65.6 57.6
4 Elizabeth Cambage http://twitter.com/ecambage 77.6 72.3 67.8 64.5
5 Stephanie Rice http://twitter.com/ItsStephRice 77.6 81.8 67.8 65.6
6 Melanie Schlanger http://twitter.com/Mel_Schlanger 77.6 74.4 70.1 56.4
7 Cadel Evans http://twitter.com/CadelOfficial 76.6 87.5 61 46.9
8 Eamon Sullivan http://twitter.com/Eamon_Sullivan 75.5 78.7 63.3 58.7
9 Joe Ingles http://twitter.com/joeingles7 73.4 76.6 64.5 48.1
10 Anna Flanagan http://twitter.com/Anna_Flanagan 72.3 63.3 63.3 43.3
11  STEFFENSEN http://twitter.com/johnsteffensen 69 66.7 48.1 38.5
12 meagen nay http://twitter.com/meagen_nay 69 66.7 59.9 40.9
13 Jarmila Gajdosova http://twitter.com/Jarka_Tennis 66.7 69 58.7 51.7
14 Anastasia Rodionova http://twitter.com/arodionova 66.7 74.4 57.6 50.5
15 Ryan Gregson http://twitter.com/RyanGregson25 65.6 57.6 54 38.5
16 Ryan Napoleon http://twitter.com/ryannapoleon 65.6 65.6 56.4 40.9
17 Brendan Cole http://twitter.com/brendan_cole 63.3 52.9 50.5 37.3
18 Mark Worthington http://twitter.com/wortho44 63.3 58.7 52.9 40.9
19 Blair Evans http://twitter.com/BlairEvans 63.3 59.9 54 42.1
20 Christopher Wright http://twitter.com/wrighty_c88 63.3 64.5 54 33.6
21 Emily Seebohm http://twitter.com/emcbomb 62.2 66.7 57.6 40.9
22 Ben St Lawrence http://twitter.com/bennysaint 62.2 59.9 46.9 36.1
23 Loudy Wiggins http://twitter.com/loudywiggins 62.2 61 54 37.3
24 Ken Wallace http://twitter.com/kennyWalrus 62.2 57.6 52.9 44.5
25 Anna Meares http://twitter.com/AnnaMeares 62.2 62.2 46.9 44.5
26 Benn Harradine http://twitter.com/bennharradine 61 50.5 50.5 36.1
27 Anabelle Smith http://twitter.com/anabellesmith93 61 62.2 52.9 39.7
28 Melissa Wu http://twitter.com/melissapaigewu 61 58.7 55.2 43.3
29 Jess Schipper http://twitter.com/jessschipper 61 59.9 52.9 34.8
30 caseydellacqua http://twitter.com/caseydellacqua 61 65.6 51.7 50.5
31 Suzy Batkovic http://twitter.com/suzybatkovic 61 54 56.4 36.1
32 Alicia Coutts http://twitter.com/Alicia_Coutts 61 63.3 50.5 38.5
33 Khalen Young http://twitter.com/Khalenyoung 59.9 50.5 51.7 42.1
34 Genevieve LaCaze http://twitter.com/GenGen_LaCaze 58.7 65.6 52.9 39.7
35 Benita Willis http://twitter.com/benitawillis 58.7 56.4 49.3 34.8
36 Caroline Buchanan http://twitter.com/cbuchanan68 58.7 59.9 52.9 44.5
37 Melissa Breen http://twitter.com/melissa_breen 58.7 61 46.9 29.9
38 Collis Birmingham http://twitter.com/cjbirmingham 58.7 52.9 46.9 34.8
39 Damon Kelly http://twitter.com/damonkelly 58.7 58.7 44.5 26.2
40 Brendan Sexton http://twitter.com/kung_fu_sexton 57.6 54 48.1 33.6
41 Rachel Bugg http://twitter.com/rachel_bugg 57.6 57.6 50.5 36.1
42 Liz Parnov http://twitter.com/lizaparnov 57.6 58.7 42.1 23.8
43 Abby Bishop http://twitter.com/abby_knight10 57.6 52.9 49.3 28.7
44 Ben Offereins http://twitter.com/benoffereins 56.4 46.9 46.9 31.2
45 Jayde Taylor http://twitter.com/_JaydeTaylor 56.4 56.4 48.1 25
46 Edwina Alexander http://twitter.com/edwinaalexander 56.4 58.7 51.7 33.6
47 Jo Brigden-Jones http://twitter.com/JoBrigdenJones 56.4 56.4 45.7 29.9
48 Brittany Elmslie http://twitter.com/brittanyelmslie 56.4 62.2 51.7 36.1
49 Lauren Boden http://twitter.com/laurenboden 56.4 58.7 43.3 29.9
50 Jenna O’Hea http://twitter.com/jennaohea 56.4 54 46.9 29.9
51 Sam Willoughby http://twitter.com/sw91 55.2 49.3 39.7 32.4
52 James Connor http://twitter.com/jamesconnor95 54 61 50.5 32.4
53 Steve Hooker http://twitter.com/stevehookerpv 54 58.7 42.1 25
54 Cameron McEvoy http://twitter.com/cameronmcevoy 54 58.7 48.1 31.2
55 Kenrick Monk http://twitter.com/kenrickmonk 54 51.7 32.4 34.8
56 Ashleigh Nelson http://twitter.com/nelson_ashleigh 54 49.3 46.9 34.8
57 David McNeill http://twitter.com/RunDMC_Neill 54 55.2 42.1 32.4
58 Matt Targett http://twitter.com/MatthewTargett 52.9 58.7 42.1 25
59 thomas whalan http://twitter.com/thomaswhalan 52.9 48.1 48.1 31.2
60 Jeffrey Hunt http://twitter.com/jeffreyhunt82 52.9 49.3 42.1 22.5
61 Drew Ginn http://twitter.com/drewginn 52.9 56.4 44.5 26.2
62 Sarah Cook http://twitter.com/SarahCookAUSROW 52.9 54 44.5 27.5
63 Lauren Reynolds http://twitter.com/lr21bmx 50.5 54 38.5 22.5
64 Melissa Gorman http://twitter.com/Mel_Gorman 49.3 56.4 40.9 25
65 Jana Pittman http://twitter.com/JanaPittman 49.3 49.3 42.1 23.8
66 Alana Nicholls http://twitter.com/alana_nicholls 49.3 50.5 39.7 22.5
67 Brian Kirkham http://twitter.com/briankirkham42 49.3 49.3 37.3 29.9
68 Brad Newley http://twitter.com/BradNewley 48.1 50.5 44.5 25
69 James Roberts http://twitter.com/James__Roberts 48.1 65.6 40.9 22.5
70 Christian Sprenger http://twitter.com/c_sprenger 48.1 61 43.3 28.7
71 Jeffrey Riseley http://twitter.com/jeff_riseley 48.1 50.5 37.3 22.5
72 Naomi Flood http://twitter.com/naomiflood 46.9 50.5 36.1 23.8
73 Bronte Barratt http://twitter.com/BronteBarratt 46.9 59.9 42.1 23.8
74 Matthew Dellavedova http://twitter.com/matthewdelly 46.9 55.2 38.5 23.8
75 Kylie Palmer http://twitter.com/KyliePalmer90 46.9 58.7 40.9 22.5
76 Eloise Wellings http://twitter.com/elzywellings 46.9 46.9 40.9 21.3
77 Jessica Trengove http://twitter.com/jesstrengove 46.9 50.5 39.7 28.7
78 Casey Eastham http://twitter.com/CaseyEastham 46.9 54 38.5 25
79 Martin Dent http://twitter.com/martydent 45.7 46.9 39.7 29.9
80 Jade Neilsen http://twitter.com/jadeneilsen 45.7 50.5 39.7 25
81 Ky Hurst http://twitter.com/Ky_Hurst 45.7 54 39.7 25
82 Nathan Outteridge http://twitter.com/nath49er 45.7 55.2 39.7 27.5
83 jarrod bannister http://twitter.com/jarrodbannister 45.7 46.9 33.6 20
84 Bronwen Knox http://twitter.com/BronKnox 45.7 43.3 38.5 17.6
85 Toni Cronk http://twitter.com/toni_cronk 44.5 54 36.1 18.8
86 Eloise Amberger http://twitter.com/eloiseamberger 44.5 49.3 39.7 27.5
87 Madonna Blyth http://twitter.com/MadonnaBlyth 43.3 46.9 36.1 20
88 Jodie Schulz http://twitter.com/JodieSchulz 43.3 46.9 40.9 21.3
89 Cathy Freeman http://twitter.com/cathyfreeman73 43.3 52.9 34.8 21.3
90 Tess Gerrand http://twitter.com/Tgerrand 43.3 44.5 39.7 23.8
91 Tessa Wallace http://twitter.com/tessa_wallace 42.1 45.7 38.5 20
92 Kaila McKnight http://twitter.com/kailamcknight 42.1 49.3 36.1 18.8
93 Tarren Otte http://twitter.com/TarrenOtte 42.1 44.5 36.1 18.8
94 Mel http://twitter.com/melrippon 42.1 39.7 32.4 18.8
95 Jane Moran http://twitter.com/janekmoran 40.9 37.3 36.1 20
96 David Smith http://twitter.com/david_smith87 40.9 45.7 34.8 18.8
97 Jesse Phillips http://twitter.com/mrjessephillips 40.9 39.7 32.4 16.3
98 Sharleen Stratton http://twitter.com/sharleenstratto 40.9 49.3 36.1 20
99 Rhys Howden http://twitter.com/rhyshowden 40.9 43.3 34.8 18.8
100 LeistonPickett http://twitter.com/LeistonPickett 40.9 50.5 34.8 23.8
101 David McKeon http://twitter.com/DavoMcKeon 39.7 50.5 28.7 18.8
102 jai tapu opetaia http://twitter.com/jaiopetaia 39.7 44.5 36.1 20
103 Joel Milburn http://twitter.com/joelmilburn 39.7 42.1 29.9 18.8
104 Youcef ABDI http://twitter.com/abdirunning 39.7 48.1 32.4 17.6
105 Nick Ffrost http://twitter.com/nickffrost 39.7 44.5 26.2 16.3
106 Alana Boyd http://twitter.com/_alanaboyd 38.5 45.7 32.4 18.8
107 Krystal Weir http://twitter.com/krystalsailing 38.5 44.5 32.4 25
108 Mitchell Larkin http://twitter.com/Larkin_mitch 38.5 46.9 31.2 21.3
109 Jared Tallent http://twitter.com/jaredtallent 37.3 42.1 31.2 17.6
110 Natalie Cook http://twitter.com/natcookvb 37.3 45.7 29.9 20
111 Billy Miller http://twitter.com/billymiller_aus 36.1 39.7 31.2 16.3
112 Will Lockwood http://twitter.com/WJLockwood 36.1 42.1 29.9 16.3
113 Clayton Fredericks http://twitter.com/ClaytonFrederi1 36.1 42.1 29.9 16.3
114 Glenn Warfe http://twitter.com/glennwarfe 36.1 42.1 32.4 20
115 Nina Curtis http://twitter.com/ninaevacurtis 36.1 39.7 26.2 15.1
116 Kim Crow http://twitter.com/kimmyjcrow 34.8 50.5 22.5 20
117 Daniel Tranter http://twitter.com/DanielTranter 34.8 40.9 31.2 16.3
118 Sam Loch http://twitter.com/samloch 34.8 39.7 22.5 16.3
119 James Chapman http://twitter.com/jamesjchapman 34.8 40.9 25 16.3
120 Olia Burtaev http://twitter.com/oliaburtaev 34.8 36.1 31.2 16.3
121 bryn coudraye http://twitter.com/bryncoudraye 31.2 32.4 23.8 15.1
122 Nicholas D’Arcy http://twitter.com/nick_2222 29.9 42.1 16.3 15.1
123 Chris Erickson http://twitter.com/ChrisErickson00 28.7 32.4 20 13.8
124 Lleyton Hewitt http://twitter.com/officialhewitt 28.7 48.1 20 16.3
125 Bernard Tomic http://twitter.com/bernardtomicfc 28.7 37.3 17.6 13.8
126 Becchara Palmer http://twitter.com/beccharapalmer 27.5 37.3 16.3 12.5
127 Francis Hegerty http://twitter.com/frankyjhegs 25 33.6 15.1 12.5
128 Dani Samuels http://twitter.com/danisamuels 18.8 40.9 12.5 12.5
129 Toby lister http://twitter.com/tobiaslister 6.2 20 1.2 6.2